PA · Skokie, Illinois · private

Touro University Illinois Physician Assistant Program prerequisites

What Touro Illinois asks for in the 2026-27 cycle, as read from the school's own admissions page. 13 lines differ from the standard PA school set, marked below.

Read from the school’s pageCheck it with the school

Coursework

  • Biology with labrequiredextra here

    2 semesters · 8 credits · lab

    "General Biology I & II (with labs)," 8 credits. A full introductory biology sequence on top of anatomy and physiology, which most PA programs do not require.

  • General chemistry with labrequired

    2 semesters · 8 credits · lab

    The two-semester sequence with lab. Around a fifth of programs want only one semester or skip general chemistry entirely and start at organic or biochemistry.

  • Biochemistryrequireddiffers

    4 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 1 semester · 3 credits.

    "Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry," 4 credits, your choice of the two. Four credits usually means a course carrying a laboratory, though the table does not say so outright.

  • English or writing-intensiverequireddiffers

    2 semesters · 6 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 2 semesters · 6 credits and list it as recommended.

    Required, not recommended: "English Composition and/or English Literature," 6 credits. Either subject or a mix of the two.

  • Statisticsrequired

    1 semester · 3 credits

    Statistics, not calculus. The exception is regional: several Oklahoma and Texas programs require college algebra instead and do not count statistics, so check those individually.

  • College mathematicsrequiredextra here

    1 semester · 3 credits

    "Mathematics (pre-calculus level or above)," 3 credits, and it sits beside the separate 3 credit statistics requirement rather than being satisfied by it. College algebra below pre-calculus will not count.

  • Psychologyrequireddiffers

    2 semesters · 6 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 1 semester · 3 credits.

    Six credits of "Behavioral Sciences (e.g., Psychology, Sociology, Anthropology)." Psychology is one accepted route rather than a named requirement; sociology or anthropology fill the same block.

  • Anatomy and physiologyrequireddiffers

    2 semesters · 8 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 2 semesters · 8 credits · lab.

    Eight credits of anatomy and physiology. The prerequisite table marks general biology and general chemistry "(with labs)" but attaches no lab note to anatomy and physiology, so the lab is not stated as required here; a full A&P I and II sequence with lab is the ordinary way to reach 8 credits anyway.

  • Microbiologyrequireddiffers

    3 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 1 semester · 4 credits · lab.

    Three credits. Unlike general biology and general chemistry, microbiology carries no "(with labs)" note in Touro's table.

  • Medical terminologynot required here

    Not among the 55 credits of specific prerequisites.

  • Social sciences and humanitiesrequiredextra here

    4 semesters · 12 credits

    Two separate blocks that together come to 12 credits: "Behavioral Sciences (e.g., Psychology, Sociology, Anthropology)" at 6 credits, and "Humanities and/or Liberal Arts & Sciences" at 6 credits. Touro accepts a wide range in both and several courses count toward each block.

Experience hours

  • Patient care experiencerequireddiffers

    200+ hours

    Most PA programmes ask for 500+ hours.

    One of the lowest published floors on this path: "Verification of a minimum of 200 hours of direct patient contact health care experience, either volunteer or paid, must be documented on the Patient Contact Form and uploaded through CASPA." Volunteer hours count equally with paid hours, and the documentation runs on Touro's own Patient Contact Form. A 200 hour floor is a floor, not a competitive figure.

  • Healthcare experiencerecommended

    500+ hours

    Many programs publish one combined healthcare figure instead of splitting patient care from healthcare exposure; where they do, the number lands here. Median published minimum is 500 hours.

  • PA shadowingrecommended

    20+ hours

    "PA shadowing is recommended but not required." No hour figure is published.

Letters

  • Science faculty letterrecommended

    No published minimum

    Only a handful of programs require a science faculty letter by name. An academic letter is welcome nearly everywhere and mandatory almost nowhere.

  • Physician letterrecommendedextra here

    1 letter

    Not named. Touro requires "three (3) letters of recommendation," of which only one writer is specified, a physician assistant. The remaining two are unrestricted, so a physician letter fits there without being asked for.

  • PA letterrequireddiffers

    1 letter

    Most PA programmes publish no minimum and list it as recommended.

    Explicit and unavoidable: "Three (3) letters of recommendation. One of the letters of recommendation must be from a physician assistant." Build the relationship that produces this letter early, since PA shadowing itself is only recommended here.

  • Supervisor letterrecommendeddiffers

    1 letter

    Most PA programmes publish no minimum.

    Not specified. Only one of the three required letters has a named writer, the physician assistant; a work supervisor is a natural choice for the other two but is not asked for.

Also on the school’s page

Touro Illinois publishes the longest prerequisite list on this path, a "distribution of 55 credits of specific prerequisites": general biology I and II with labs (8), general chemistry I and II with labs (8), organic chemistry or biochemistry (4), anatomy and physiology (8), microbiology (3), behavioral sciences such as psychology, sociology or anthropology (6), English composition and/or English literature (6), mathematics at pre-calculus level or above (3), statistics (3), and humanities and/or liberal arts and sciences (6). Plan the whole 55 credits early, because the general biology sequence, the mathematics course and the humanities block are all requirements that most PA programs do not carry. A baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited institution is required, prerequisite courses need "grades of 'C' or better," and the program asks for "a 3.0 minimum cumulative GPA for all college-level coursework completed" plus "a 3.0 minimum science GPA from all colleges attended." On recency, "applicants whose sciences prerequisites are more than 10 years will be required to take refresher courses unless exempted by the Admissions Committee," a softer rule than an outright cutoff. The page makes no mention of the GRE or the PA-CAT. Application is through CASPA, with a personal interview by invitation. Note the catalog's accreditation flag: this program holds Provisional ARC-PA accreditation.

Check your transcript against this list

Cyclios keeps this list beside your coursework and tells you what Touro Illinois still needs from you.

See it for PA school