PA · Miami Shores, Florida · private
Barry University Physician Assistant Program prerequisites
What Barry asks for in the 2026-27 cycle, as read from the school's own admissions page. 12 lines differ from the standard PA school set, marked below.
Coursework
- General chemistry with labrequireddiffers
6 credits
Most PA programmes ask for 2 semesters · 8 credits · lab.
General or inorganic chemistry, "6 credits (2 courses)." The full two-semester sequence, though Barry does not state a laboratory requirement for it.
- Organic chemistry with labrequiredextra here
3 credits
"Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry, 3 credits (1 course)." One semester of either satisfies the line, and Barry does not state a laboratory requirement for it.
- Biochemistryrecommendeddiffers
1 semester · 3 credits
Most PA programmes ask for 1 semester · 3 credits and list it as required.
Biochemistry is one of the two ways to answer the "Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry, 3 credits (1 course)" line, so it is optional in itself: organic chemistry satisfies the same slot.
- English or writing-intensivenot required here
Not on Barry's prerequisite list.
- Statisticsnot required here
Barry's published prerequisite list carries no statistics or mathematics requirement.
- Psychologyrequired
1 semester · 3 credits
Psychology is one of only three disciplines Barry accepts toward the six credit behavioral or social sciences block, alongside sociology and human growth and development.
- Advanced biologyrequiredextra here
1 semester · 3 credits
"Three additional semester hours (1 course)" of biological science beyond A&P and microbiology. Barry names the acceptable choices: general biology, zoology, human genetics, histology, or cell and molecular biology.
- Anatomy and physiologyrequired
2 semesters · 8 credits · lab
"8 credits (2 courses with labs)." Barry names disqualifying substitutes outright: "Kinesiology, Environmental Engineering, and Exercise Science will not be accepted," so an exercise science department's A&P sequence is a real risk here.
- Microbiologyrequired
1 semester · 4 credits · lab
"Four semester hours (1 course with lab)."
- Medical terminologyrequireddiffers
1 credits
Most PA programmes ask for 1 credits and list it as recommended.
Not a prerequisite to apply but a condition of your seat: "Once offered a seat of provisional acceptance, the completion of a medical terminology course is required prior to matriculation."
- Social sciences and humanitiesrequiredextra here
2 semesters · 6 credits
"At least six semester hours (2 courses)" of behavioral or social sciences, with a short accept list of psychology, sociology and human growth and development. "Anthropology, Humanities, and Criminology courses are not accepted," so check the department code on anything borderline.
Experience hours
- Patient care experiencerecommendeddiffers
1000+ hours
Most PA programmes ask for 500+ hours and list it as required.
Barry publishes no minimum. "Evidence of prior experience in health care is highly recommended," and the admissions committee favors "applicants with higher GPA, PA-CAT, patient care experience, work experience." The program describes competitive applicants as bringing "over 1,000 hours of hands-on patient care experience," which is a picture of the pool, not a bar you must clear.
- Healthcare experiencerecommended
500+ hours
Many programs publish one combined healthcare figure instead of splitting patient care from healthcare exposure; where they do, the number lands here. Median published minimum is 500 hours.
- PA shadowingrecommended
20+ hours
Under a fifth of programs set a shadowing minimum; among those that do the median is 20 hours and a handful ask for 100 or more. Several count shadowing inside their experience total rather than separately, and a few have dropped it from scoring entirely.
Letters
- Science faculty letterrecommendeddiffers
1 letter
Most PA programmes publish no minimum.
Barry names "academicians" as one of the three letter sources without specifying a department, so a professor in any discipline answers it.
- PA letterrecommendeddiffers
1 letter
Most PA programmes publish no minimum.
Not required, but explicitly weighted: "Special consideration given to references from a PA."
- Supervisor letterrequireddiffers
1 letter
Most PA programmes publish no minimum and list it as recommended.
"Three letters of recommendation (from clinical work supervisors or clinical coworkers, and academicians. Special consideration given to references from a PA)." Clinical coworkers count here, not only supervisors.
Also on the school’s page
Barry's prerequisite list is chemistry-heavy and specific about what will not count. It asks for 6 credits (2 courses) of general or inorganic chemistry, 3 credits (1 course) of organic chemistry or biochemistry, 8 credits of human anatomy and physiology as 2 courses with labs, microbiology as "four semester hours (1 course with lab)," "three additional semester hours (1 course)" of biological science chosen from general biology, zoology, human genetics, histology or cell and molecular biology, and "at least six semester hours (2 courses)" of behavioral or social sciences. For the A&P line, "Kinesiology, Environmental Engineering, and Exercise Science will not be accepted." For the behavioral block, only psychology, sociology and human growth and development count: "Anthropology, Humanities, and Criminology courses are not accepted." No statistics, English or math prerequisite is listed. "Prerequisite credits that are more than ten years old will not be considered," a hard 10 year window. GPA floor is "an overall GPA and science GPA equal to or higher than 3.0," while the most competitive applicants carry "an average Overall and Science GPA of 3.4-3.5," which is a description of the pool and not a minimum. Testing is the distinguishing feature here: "All applicants are required to take the PA-CAT and have their scores reported to Barry University," the MCAT cannot substitute for it, "We are no longer requiring the GRE," and "CASPER is highly recommended at this time, and will be required in future application cycles."
Check your transcript against this list
Cyclios keeps this list beside your coursework and tells you what Barry still needs from you.
See it for PA schoolAlso in Florida
- AdventHealth University Physician Assistant ProgramOrlando
- Florida Gulf Coast University Physician Assistant ProgramFort Myers
- Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine Physician Assistant ProgramMiami
- Florida State University Physician Assistant ProgramTallahassee
- Gannon University Physician Assistant Program, RuskinRuskin
- Larkin University Physician Assistant ProgramMiami
- Lincoln Memorial University Physician Assistant Program, TampaBrandon
- Miami Dade College Physician Assistant ProgramMiami
- Nova Southeastern University Physician Assistant Program, Fort LauderdaleFort Lauderdale
- Nova Southeastern University Physician Assistant Program, Fort MyersFort Myers
- Nova Southeastern University Physician Assistant Program, JacksonvilleJacksonville
- Nova Southeastern University Physician Assistant Program, OrlandoOrlando