PA · New York, New York · private

Touro University (Manhattan) Physician Assistant Program prerequisites

What Touro Manhattan asks for in the 2026-27 cycle, as read from the school's own admissions page. 13 lines differ from the standard PA school set, marked below.

Read from the school’s pageCheck it with the school

Coursework

  • Biology with labrequiredextra here

    2 semesters · 8 credits · lab

    "General Biology I & II (with labs)": 8 credits, designed for science majors.

  • General chemistry with labrequired

    2 semesters · 8 credits · lab

    "General Chemistry I & II (with labs)": 8 credits.

  • Biochemistryrequireddiffers

    4 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 1 semester · 3 credits.

    Touro's advanced chemistry line: "Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry": 4 credits. Either course satisfies it; no lab is stated.

  • English or writing-intensiverequireddiffers

    2 semesters · 6 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 2 semesters · 6 credits and list it as recommended.

    "English Composition and/or English Literature": 6 credits. "Applicants must provide catalog descriptions for English courses not taught by an English department." The TOEFL does not substitute for this.

  • Statisticsrequired

    1 semester · 3 credits

    "Statistics": 3 credits.

  • College mathematicsrequiredextra here

    1 semester · 3 credits

    "Mathematics (pre-calculus level or above)": 3 credits, separate from and in addition to the 3 credits of statistics.

  • Psychologynot required here

    Not named on its own. Psychology is one of the examples for the 6-credit Behavioral Sciences block, recorded on the social sciences line.

  • Anatomy and physiologyrequireddiffers

    2 semesters · 8 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 2 semesters · 8 credits · lab.

    "Anatomy & Physiology": 8 credits; the table does not state a lab. "Applicants who completed two Anatomy & Physiology courses for less than a total of 8 credits must satisfy the credit requirement by completing an additional elective in Biology or Chemistry."

  • Microbiologyrequireddiffers

    3 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 1 semester · 4 credits · lab.

    "Microbiology": 3 credits; the table does not state a lab.

  • Medical terminologynot required here

    Not on Touro's prerequisite table.

  • Social sciences and humanitiesrequiredextra here

    2 semesters · 6 credits

    "Behavioral Sciences (e.g., Psychology, Sociology, Anthropology)": 6 credits. Any mix of those disciplines answers it.

Experience hours

  • Patient care experiencerequireddiffers

    200+ hours

    Most PA programmes ask for 500+ hours.

    "You need to submit verification of a minimum of 200 hours of direct patient contact," "either volunteer or paid," on the Patient Contact Form uploaded through CASPA. "Direct patient contact hours must involve interaction with patients." Examples given: volunteer in an Emergency Department transporting patients, volunteer in a doctor's office performing height and weight and vital signs, medical assistant or nurse's aide, phlebotomist, Licensed Practical Nurse or Respiratory Therapist, EMT or Paramedic. The committee weighs the "nature and extent of health care experiences" beyond the minimum.

  • Healthcare experiencerecommended

    500+ hours

    Many programs publish one combined healthcare figure instead of splitting patient care from healthcare exposure; where they do, the number lands here. Median published minimum is 500 hours.

  • PA shadowingrecommended

    20+ hours

    "PA shadowing is recommended but not required"; documentation forms are in the CASPA supplemental application, and the committee considers the "nature and extent of PA shadowing (if done)."

Letters

  • Science faculty letternot required here

    Not named. Three letters, of which only the PA letter is specified.

  • PA letterrequireddiffers

    1 letter

    Most PA programmes publish no minimum and list it as recommended.

    "Three (3) letters of recommendation. One of the letters of recommendation must be from a physician assistant." "The letter of recommendation from a PA cannot be substituted with a letter from another health care provider (i.e. RN, NP, paramedic)."

  • Supervisor letternot required here

    Not named. Three letters, of which only the PA letter is specified.

Also on the school’s page

Touro Manhattan publishes the same admission requirements as the Long Island program, on its own page. It admits on 90 credits rather than a completed degree: "You will need to have successfully completed 90 transferable credits of bachelor's level courses, 60 of which must be in general liberal arts and sciences, as outlined below with grades of 'C' or better at an accredited college, university, or its equivalent." The 60 credits of specific prerequisites are: General Biology I and II with labs, 8; General Chemistry I and II with labs, 8; Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry, 4; Anatomy and Physiology, 8; Microbiology, 3; Behavioral Sciences (e.g., Psychology, Sociology, Anthropology), 6; English Composition and/or English Literature, 6; Mathematics (pre-calculus level or above), 3; Statistics, 3; and Humanities and/or Liberal Arts and Sciences, 11, which has no key here. "All prerequisite science courses must be designed for science majors." Recency: "Applicants whose sciences prerequisites are more than 10 years old may be required to take refresher courses unless exempted by the Admissions Committee." AP credit needs a score of 4 or 5. "An applicant may apply to the program with prerequisite coursework in progress, as long as no more than one natural science prerequisite is missing at the time of application (Biology, Chemistry, Anatomy & Physiology). All prerequisite coursework must be completed a full semester prior to the start of the program." GPA: "A 3.0 minimum cumulative GPA" and "A 3.0 minimum combined science GPA from all colleges attended," computed from all biology, chemistry and physics grades (the CASPA BCP total). Applicants below these standards may petition the Admissions Committee in writing with the application. Testing: the page does not mention the GRE or the PA-CAT at all; TOEFL is required only of applicants whose native language is not English or who did not attend college in an English-speaking country. Experience: "You need to submit verification of a minimum of 200 hours of direct patient contact," documented on the Patient Contact Form. Letters: "Three (3) letters of recommendation. One of the letters of recommendation must be from a physician assistant." A $25 supplemental fee and separate supplemental documents are required for each Touro location applied to.

Check your transcript against this list

Cyclios keeps this list beside your coursework and tells you what Touro Manhattan still needs from you.

See it for PA school