PA · Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania · public

University of Pittsburgh Hybrid Physician Assistant Program prerequisites

What Pitt Hybrid asks for in the 2026-27 cycle, as read from the school's own admissions page. 8 lines differ from the standard PA school set, marked below.

Read from the school’s pageCheck it with the school

Coursework

  • Biology with labrequiredextra here

    2 semesters · 8 credits · lab

    "Biology with lab designed for science majors, two semesters." Counts toward the prerequisite science GPA that must be at least 3.0. The page gives semesters, not credits.

  • General chemistry with labrequired

    2 semesters · 8 credits · lab

    The two-semester sequence with lab. Around a fifth of programs want only one semester or skip general chemistry entirely and start at organic or biochemistry.

  • Biochemistrynot required here

    Not on Pitt's prerequisite list; neither organic chemistry nor biochemistry is required.

  • English or writing-intensiverequireddiffers

    2 semesters · 6 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 2 semesters · 6 credits and list it as recommended.

    "English Composition/writing, two semesters." Credits are not stated on the page.

  • Statisticsrequired

    1 semester · 3 credits

    Statistics, not calculus. The exception is regional: several Oklahoma and Texas programs require college algebra instead and do not count statistics, so check those individually.

  • Psychologyrequired

    1 semester · 3 credits

    General psychology. Many programs fold it into a broader social or behavioural science block that sociology or anthropology also satisfies.

  • Anatomy and physiologyrequired

    2 semesters · 8 credits · lab

    "Anatomy with lab and Physiology. This requirement may be met by taking either one semester of Anatomy with lab and one semester of Physiology or two semesters of Anatomy with lab & Physiology combined." The lab is stated for anatomy; the page does not require a physiology lab. Credits are not stated, two semesters are.

  • Microbiologyrequired

    1 semester · 4 credits · lab

    Named by nearly every program, usually 3 or 4 credits. A minority accept it without the lab, so read the school's own line before dropping one.

  • Medical terminologyrequireddiffers

    1 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 1 credits and list it as recommended.

    "Medical Terminology, one semester for at least 1 college credit." A graded college course; no work experience substitute is offered.

Experience hours

  • Patient care experiencerequired

    500+ hours

    "A minimum of 500 hours of direct, 'hands-on,' patient care experience is required by the admissions requirement deadline. Eligible experiences include work as registered nurse (RN), emergency medical technician (EMT), paramedic, medical assistant and physical or occupational therapy assistant." "Experience must involve direct, hands-on patient care where you are actively responsible for performing clinical tasks as part of a health care team. Observation/shadowing does not count." Screening awards higher scores "for longer service and at higher levels of patient care."

  • Healthcare experiencerecommended

    500+ hours

    Many programs publish one combined healthcare figure instead of splitting patient care from healthcare exposure; where they do, the number lands here. Median published minimum is 500 hours.

  • PA shadowingrecommended

    20+ hours

    Under a fifth of programs set a shadowing minimum; among those that do the median is 20 hours and a handful ask for 100 or more. Several count shadowing inside their experience total rather than separately, and a few have dropped it from scoring entirely.

Letters

  • Science faculty letternot required here

    Pitt's instructor letter is not restricted to a science professor; it is recorded on the faculty (any discipline) line instead.

  • Faculty letter (any discipline)requiredextra here

    1 letter

    "One (1) from a prior Instructor," defined as "a person who has been directly involved in teaching you in some capacity," with examples including a college professor, a certification or skills teacher, a superior who provided on the job training, or a military instructor. Broader than a faculty letter, but a professor is the usual fit.

  • PA letternot required here

    No PA letter is named. The three letters are a character reference, the PCE supervisor, and a prior instructor.

  • Supervisor letterrequireddiffers

    1 letter

    Most PA programmes publish no minimum and list it as recommended.

    "One (1) from your PCE Supervisor," a "superior who directly oversees your patient care hours who can specifically speak to your skills and patient interactions," such as a current or past manager, department director, mentor or military superior.

Also on the school’s page

Pitt's hybrid program lists prerequisites by semester rather than credit: "Biology with lab designed for science majors, two semesters*; Microbiology with lab, one semester*; Chemistry with lab designed for science majors, two semesters*; Anatomy with lab and Physiology*; Statistics, one semester; Medical Terminology, one semester for at least 1 college credit; English Composition/writing, two semesters; Psychology, one semester." Every prerequisite needs "a 'C' grade or higher," and "there is no expiration date for prerequisite courses." GPA: "an overall GPA of 3.0 (based on 4.0) in all college level coursework and a minimum GPA of 3.0 (based on 4.0) in the prerequisite science courses designated below with an asterisk" (biology, microbiology, chemistry, anatomy and physiology); an applicant below 3.0 overall "may still be reviewed/considered" only with a completed master's or doctoral degree. Exams: "The GRE General Test is not required for admission to the program"; the PA-CAT is not mentioned. Three professional letters: one character reference (peer, coworker, mentor, volunteer group or religious leader), one from the PCE supervisor, one from a prior instructor. The character reference has no key here and is noted only. A bachelor's degree from an accredited institution is required; no transfer credit or advanced placement. Personal statement and mission essay through CASPA; generative AI tools are not permitted for application materials. The program publishes a downloadable prerequisite rubric and offers unofficial prerequisite evaluations by email. Classes start in the spring term (January); at the time of reading the application opens Spring 2027 with the close date listed as TBD, interviews online in September and decisions in October.

Check your transcript against this list

Cyclios keeps this list beside your coursework and tells you what Pitt Hybrid still needs from you.

See it for PA school