PA · Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania · public
University of Pittsburgh Physician Assistant Program prerequisites
What Pitt asks for in the 2026-27 cycle, as read from the school's own admissions page. 8 lines differ from the standard PA school set, marked below.
Coursework
- Biology with labrequiredextra here
2 semesters · 8 credits · lab
"Biology with lab designed for science majors, two semesters." Counts toward the prerequisite science GPA that must be at least 3.0. The page gives semesters, not credits.
- General chemistry with labrequired
2 semesters · 8 credits · lab
The two-semester sequence with lab. Around a fifth of programs want only one semester or skip general chemistry entirely and start at organic or biochemistry.
- Biochemistrynot required here
Not on Pitt's prerequisite list; neither organic chemistry nor biochemistry is required.
- English or writing-intensiverequireddiffers
2 semesters · 6 credits
Most PA programmes ask for 2 semesters · 6 credits and list it as recommended.
"English Composition/writing, two semesters." Credits are not stated on the page.
- Statisticsrequired
1 semester · 3 credits
Statistics, not calculus. The exception is regional: several Oklahoma and Texas programs require college algebra instead and do not count statistics, so check those individually.
- Psychologyrequired
1 semester · 3 credits
General psychology. Many programs fold it into a broader social or behavioural science block that sociology or anthropology also satisfies.
- Anatomy and physiologyrequired
2 semesters · 8 credits · lab
"Anatomy with lab and Physiology. This requirement may be met by taking either one semester of Anatomy with lab and one semester of Physiology or two semesters of Anatomy with lab and Physiology combined." The lab is stated for anatomy; the page does not require a physiology lab. Credits are not stated, two semesters are.
- Microbiologyrequired
1 semester · 4 credits · lab
Named by nearly every program, usually 3 or 4 credits. A minority accept it without the lab, so read the school's own line before dropping one.
- Medical terminologyrequireddiffers
1 credits
Most PA programmes ask for 1 credits and list it as recommended.
"Medical Terminology, one semester for at least 1 college credit." A graded college course; no work experience substitute is offered.
Experience hours
- Patient care experiencerequired
500+ hours
"A minimum of 500 hours of direct, hands-on patient care experience is required by the admissions requirement deadline. Direct patient care involves active participation in the care, evaluation, or treatment of patients." Eligible examples: "registered nurse (RN), licensed practical nurse (LPN), paramedic, emergency medical technician (EMT), emergency room technician, military medical roles (e.g., medic or corpsman), athletic trainer, dietician, medical assistant, nursing assistant, patient care technician, surgical technician, pharmacy technician, dental assistant, physical or occupational therapy assistant, and phlebotomist."
- Healthcare experiencerecommended
500+ hours
Many programs publish one combined healthcare figure instead of splitting patient care from healthcare exposure; where they do, the number lands here. Median published minimum is 500 hours.
- PA shadowingrecommended
20+ hours
Under a fifth of programs set a shadowing minimum; among those that do the median is 20 hours and a handful ask for 100 or more. Several count shadowing inside their experience total rather than separately, and a few have dropped it from scoring entirely.
Letters
- Science faculty letternot required here
Pitt's instructor letter is not restricted to a science professor; it is recorded on the faculty (any discipline) line instead.
- Faculty letter (any discipline)requiredextra here
1 letter
"One (1) Prior Instructor: An individual who has taught or formally trained the applicant. Examples: college or university instructor/professor, certification or skills instructor, a supervisor who provided on-the-job skills training or a military instructor." Broader than a faculty letter, but a professor is the usual fit.
- PA letternot required here
No PA letter is named. The three letters are the PCE supervisor, a character reference, and a prior instructor.
- Supervisor letterrequireddiffers
1 letter
Most PA programmes publish no minimum and list it as recommended.
"One (1) Patient Care Experience (PCE) Supervisor: A supervisor the applicant has worked with or currently works with in a patient care role. Examples: manager, assistant manager, department director or military supervisor."
Also on the school’s page
Pitt's on-campus program lists prerequisites by semester rather than credit: "Biology with lab designed for science majors, two semesters*; Chemistry with lab designed for science majors, two semesters*; Microbiology with lab, one semester*; Anatomy with lab and Physiology*; Statistics, one semester; Medical Terminology, one semester for at least 1 college credit; English Composition/writing, two semesters; Psychology, one semester." Every prerequisite needs "a 'C' grade or higher," and "there is no expiration date for prerequisite courses." GPA: "an overall GPA of 3.0 (based on 4.0) in all college level coursework and a minimum GPA of 3.0 (based on 4.0) in the prerequisite science courses designated below with an asterisk" (biology, chemistry, microbiology, anatomy and physiology); an applicant below 3.0 overall "may still be reviewed/considered" only with a completed master's or doctoral degree. Exams: "The GRE General Test is not required for admission to the program"; the PA-CAT is not mentioned. Three professional letters: one PCE supervisor, one character reference (peer, coworker, mentor, volunteer group leader or religious leader), one prior instructor; "recommendations should not be provided by friends or family members." The character reference has no key here and is noted only. A bachelor's degree from an accredited institution is required. One CASPA personal statement on why the applicant wants to be a PA. The program publishes a downloadable prerequisite rubric and offers unofficial prerequisite evaluations by email. Classes start in the following spring term (January); at the time of reading the application opens Spring 2027 with the close date listed as TBD.
Check your transcript against this list
Cyclios keeps this list beside your coursework and tells you what Pitt still needs from you.
See it for PA schoolAlso in Pennsylvania
- Alvernia University Physician Assistant ProgramReading
- Arcadia University Physician Assistant ProgramGlenside
- Carlow University Physician Assistant ProgramPittsburgh
- Chatham University Physician Assistant ProgramPittsburgh
- Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania Physician Assistant ProgramLock Haven
- Delaware Valley University Physician Assistant ProgramDoylestown
- DeSales University Physician Assistant ProgramCenter Valley
- Drexel University Physician Assistant ProgramPhiladelphia
- Duquesne University Physician Assistant ProgramPittsburgh
- Elizabethtown College Physician Assistant ProgramElizabethtown
- Gannon University Physician Assistant Program, ErieErie
- King's College Physician Assistant ProgramWilkes-Barre