PA · Stratford, New Jersey · public
Rowan University Physician Assistant Program prerequisites
What Rowan asks for in the 2026-27 cycle, as read from the school's own admissions page. 11 lines differ from the standard PA school set, marked below.
Coursework
- Biology with labrequiredextra here
2 semesters · 8 credits · lab
"General Biology: 8 credits," the full introductory sequence. The page does not state a lab requirement in so many words; the FAQ calls in-person science courses and labs a preference.
- General chemistry with labrequireddiffers
6 credits · lab
Most PA programmes ask for 2 semesters · 8 credits · lab.
"General Chemistry: 6 credits," fewer than the eight most programs ask. The page does not state a lab requirement in so many words; the FAQ calls in-person science courses and labs a preference.
- Biochemistryrequired
1 semester · 3 credits
"Organic Chemistry/Biochemistry: 3 credits." One three credit course in either subject satisfies this line; Rowan does not require both.
- English or writing-intensivenot required here
No English or writing requirement appears on the application requirements page.
- Statisticsrequired
1 semester · 3 credits
Statistics, not calculus. The exception is regional: several Oklahoma and Texas programs require college algebra instead and do not count statistics, so check those individually.
- Psychologyrequired
1 semester · 3 credits
General psychology. Many programs fold it into a broader social or behavioural science block that sociology or anthropology also satisfies.
- Advanced biologyrequiredextra here
1 semester · 3 credits
"Advanced Biology: 3 credits." Neither the requirements page nor the FAQ lists which courses qualify; confirm a specific course with the program before relying on it.
- Anatomy and physiologyrequired
2 semesters · 8 credits · lab
The full A&P sequence with lab, the one course essentially every program names. Recency windows bite hardest here: several programs expire A&P specifically, one at three years, while leaving the rest of the list alone.
- Microbiologynot required here
Microbiology is not named on Rowan's prerequisite list. It would be a natural choice for the 3 credit advanced biology block, but the page does not say so.
- Medical terminologyrequireddiffers
1 credits
Most PA programmes ask for 1 credits and list it as recommended.
"Medical Terminology: 1 credit." A required course here, not a recommendation.
Experience hours
- Patient care experiencerequireddiffers
350+ hours
Most PA programmes ask for 500+ hours.
"Applicants must have a minimum of 350 hours of patient care experience within the last five years." The FAQ defines it: "The 350 hours must involve hands-on, direct interaction with patients in a healthcare setting," and "shadowing hours are not considered direct patient care." Volunteer hours count when they involve direct, hands-on patient care.
- Healthcare experiencerecommended
500+ hours
Many programs publish one combined healthcare figure instead of splitting patient care from healthcare exposure; where they do, the number lands here. Median published minimum is 500 hours.
- PA shadowingrecommended
20+ hours
"Standardized tests or PA shadowing is not required to apply." No number is published, and shadowing does not count toward the 350 patient care hours.
- Non-clinical volunteeringrequiredextra here
40+ hours
"A minimum of 40 hours of community service within the last 10 years is required." Unusual for a PA program to put a number on service; note the ten year window.
Letters
- Science faculty letterrequireddiffers
1 letter
Most PA programmes publish no minimum and list it as recommended.
"One science professor," one of the three required letters.
- PA letternot required here
No PA letter is required. The three letters are a science professor, a supervisor or manager, and one person of the applicant's choice.
- Supervisor letterrequireddiffers
1 letter
Most PA programmes publish no minimum and list it as recommended.
"One supervisor/manager," one of the three required letters. The third letter is "one person of your choice," and none may come from family members or friends.
Also on the school’s page
Rowan-Virtua SOM publishes its prerequisites as subject blocks with credit counts and no lab wording; the lab flags on the science lines below follow the usual reading of those courses, and the admissions FAQ says only that "taking in-person science courses and labs is a preference of the Rowan-Virtua SOM PA program." Every prerequisite needs a C or higher with "no more than two grades of 'C' for all prerequisites," and "all courses must be completed within 10 years prior to matriculation." Two GPA floors with a stated preference above each: "Cumulative GPA: 3.00+ (Preferred: 3.20+)" and "Prerequisite GPA: 3.00+ (Preferred: 3.20+)." On exams, the page is explicit: "Standardized tests or PA shadowing is not required to apply," so neither the GRE nor the PA-CAT is needed. Patient care experience carries its own recency window of five years. Community service is a stated requirement with a number, recorded on the non-clinical volunteering line. AP credit counts when the undergraduate institution accepted it and it appears on the transcript. A bachelor's degree is required before matriculation, and may be in progress for students on Rowan's own PA track. Letters "cannot be from family members or friends." The requirements page gives no CASPA deadline dates.
Check your transcript against this list
Cyclios keeps this list beside your coursework and tells you what Rowan still needs from you.
See it for PA schoolAlso in New Jersey
- Fairleigh Dickinson University Physician Assistant ProgramFlorham Park
- Kean University Physician Assistant ProgramUnion
- Monmouth University Physician Assistant ProgramWest Long Branch
- Rutgers University Physician Assistant ProgramPiscataway
- Saint Elizabeth University Physician Assistant ProgramMorristown
- Seton Hall University Physician Assistant ProgramNutley