PA · Ashland, Ohio · private

Ashland University Physician Assistant Program prerequisites

What Ashland asks for in the 2026-27 cycle, as read from the school's own admissions page. 14 lines differ from the standard PA school set, marked below.

Read from the school’s pageCheck it with the school

Coursework

  • Biology with labrequiredextra here

    1 semester · 4 credits

    "Biology (General)," 4 credit hours, "No AP credit accepted." The page does not state that a laboratory is required. General biology must precede microbiology.

  • General chemistry with labrequireddiffers

    1 semester · 4 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 2 semesters · 8 credits · lab.

    One semester rather than the usual two: "Chemistry (General)," 4 credit hours, "No AP credit accepted." The page does not state that a laboratory is required. General chemistry must precede biochemistry.

  • Organic chemistry with labrequiredextra here

    1 semester · 4 credits

    "Organic Chemistry," 4 credit hours, "Combined between lecture and/or lab." A lab is not mandated on its own.

  • Biochemistryrequired

    1 semester · 3 credits

    "Biochemistry," 3 credit hours, "General Chemistry must be a prerequisite." Required alongside organic chemistry rather than instead of it.

  • English or writing-intensivenot required here

    Not on Ashland's prerequisite table.

  • Statisticsrequired

    1 semester · 3 credits

    "Statistics," 3 credit hours, "No AP credit accepted."

  • Psychologynot required here

    Not on Ashland's prerequisite table.

  • Anatomy and physiologyrequireddiffers

    7 credits · lab

    Most PA programmes ask for 2 semesters · 8 credits · lab.

    "Must total at least 7 credit hours, completed as either a combined course or separate Anatomy and Physiology courses, and must include laboratory component(s) with a dedicated Human Anatomy lab experience." Ten-year recency window applies.

  • Microbiologyrequireddiffers

    1 semester · 4 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 1 semester · 4 credits · lab.

    "Microbiology," 4 credit hours, "General Biology must be a prerequisite." The page does not state that a laboratory is required.

  • Medical terminologyrequireddiffers

    1 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 1 credits and list it as recommended.

    Required here, 1 credit hour: "Certificate is not an equivalent substitution." A graded college course is needed.

  • Additional science creditsrequiredextra here

    3 semesters · 9 credits

    Ashland's own definition: "Upper Level Science of Applied Science (Defined as a science or applied science course(s) at or above the 300 level.)" Nine credit hours, subjects not named.

Experience hours

  • Patient care experiencerecommendeddiffers

    500+ hours

    Most PA programmes ask for 500+ hours and list it as required.

    No minimum is published: "Direct Patient Care Hours preferred and increasing levels of points are awarded for candidates with at least 120 hours." The 120 figure is a scoring threshold, not a floor.

  • Healthcare experiencerecommended

    500+ hours

    Many programs publish one combined healthcare figure instead of splitting patient care from healthcare exposure; where they do, the number lands here. Median published minimum is 500 hours.

  • PA shadowingrecommended

    20+ hours

    "PA Shadowing Hours preferred and increasing levels of points are awarded for candidates with at least 25 hours. Shadowing hours must be documented and submitted via CASPA."

  • Non-clinical volunteeringrecommendedextra here

    No published minimum

    "Service Experience preferred and increasing levels of points are awarded for candidates with at least 100 service hours." Not a minimum.

Letters

  • Science faculty letternot required here

    Only the PA letter is specified among the three; no faculty letter is asked for.

  • PA letterrequireddiffers

    1 letter

    Most PA programmes publish no minimum and list it as recommended.

    "Three Letters of Reference: one must be from a Physician Assistant."

  • Supervisor letternot required here

    Only the PA letter is specified among the three; the other two writers are not restricted.

Also on the school’s page

Ashland publishes a credit-hour prerequisite table: 4 of general biology, 4 of general chemistry, 9 of upper level science or applied science at the 300 level or above, 4 of microbiology, 7 of human anatomy and physiology with a dedicated human anatomy lab, 4 of organic chemistry, 3 of biochemistry, 3 of statistics and 1 of medical terminology. Every prerequisite needs a "C (2.0) or higher on a CASPA 4.0 GPA scale." Recency: "Prerequisites must have been completed within the last 10 years from the date of matriculation (August 2027), from a regionally accredited institution." General biology, general chemistry and statistics carry the note "No AP credit accepted." Applicants may apply with up to two prerequisites in progress. GPA floors are a "Cumulative Undergraduate GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale" and a "Science Undergraduate GPA 3.0 on a 4.0 scale." Testing: the GRE is "Required for all applicants - no other test will be accepted in place of GRE" (program code 4781), results "must be within five years of admission," and no minimum score is published; the CASPer test is also required; the PA-CAT is not mentioned. "Completion of a Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited US institution by June 1, 2027. Degree can be from any area of study." Patient care, shadowing and service are all preferred rather than required, scored on a points scale with thresholds at 120, 25 and 100 hours. Three letters of reference, one from a PA. Application deadline April 1.

Check your transcript against this list

Cyclios keeps this list beside your coursework and tells you what Ashland still needs from you.

See it for PA school