PA · Kettering, Ohio · private

Kettering College Physician Assistant Program prerequisites

What Kettering College asks for in the 2026-27 cycle, as read from the school's own admissions page. 11 lines differ from the standard PA school set, marked below.

Read from the school’s pageCheck it with the school

Coursework

  • Biology with labrequiredextra here

    1 semester · 4 credits · lab

    "General Biology with lab, 4." Science prerequisites must be within the last 10 years.

  • General chemistry with labnot required here

    Not on Kettering's prerequisite list; the chemistry asked for is two semesters of organic plus biochemistry.

  • Organic chemistry with labrequiredextra here

    2 semesters · 8 credits · lab

    The full sequence: "Organic Chemistry I with lab, 4" and "Organic Chemistry II with lab, 4." Required alongside biochemistry, not instead of it. Ten-year recency applies.

  • Biochemistryrequireddiffers

    4 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 1 semester · 3 credits.

    "Biochemistry (lab optional), 4." Required in addition to both semesters of organic chemistry. Ten-year recency applies.

  • English or writing-intensivenot required here

    Not on Kettering's prerequisite list.

  • Statisticsrequired

    1 semester · 3 credits

    "Statistics, 3."

  • Psychologyrequireddiffers

    2 semesters · 6 credits

    Most PA programmes ask for 1 semester · 3 credits.

    Two courses: "General Psychology, 3" and "Developmental OR abnormal psychology, 3."

  • Anatomy and physiologyrequired

    2 semesters · 8 credits · lab

    Listed as two separate courses: "Human Anatomy with lab, 4" and "Human Physiology with lab, 4." Must be completed within the last 10 years.

  • Microbiologyrequired

    1 semester · 4 credits · lab

    "Microbiology with lab, 4." Ten-year recency applies.

  • Medical terminologynot required here

    Not on Kettering's prerequisite list.

Experience hours

  • Patient care experiencerecommendeddiffers

    500+ hours

    Most PA programmes ask for 500+ hours and list it as required.

    No minimum: "There is no requirement for minimum number of patient care experience hours, however it is highly recommended that applicants complete at least 250 hours," with the interview criteria listing "250 to 1,000 hours recommended." Roles named: "STNA, CNA, EMT, or paramedic, lab tech/phlebotomist, medical scribe, EKG technician, surgical technician, pharmacy technician, respiratory care practitioner, radiological technologist, medical mission worker." Applicants are rated on both type and number of hours.

  • Healthcare experiencerecommended

    500+ hours

    Many programs publish one combined healthcare figure instead of splitting patient care from healthcare exposure; where they do, the number lands here. Median published minimum is 500 hours.

  • PA shadowingrecommended

    20+ hours

    No number: "It is also highly recommended that the applicant gain some exposure to the PA profession by shadowing a PA."

Letters

  • Science faculty letternot required here

    Three letters required, writers not specified.

  • PA letternot required here

    "Submission of three letters of recommendation" with no writer specified.

  • Supervisor letternot required here

    Three letters required, writers not specified.

Also on the school’s page

Kettering publishes a 37-credit prerequisite list: Biochemistry (lab optional) 4, Developmental OR abnormal psychology 3, General Biology with lab 4, General Psychology 3, Human Anatomy with lab 4, Human Physiology with lab 4, Microbiology with lab 4, Organic Chemistry I with lab 4, Organic Chemistry II with lab 4, Statistics 3. General chemistry is not on the list. Recency: "Science prerequisite courses must have been completed within the last 10 years." Grades: "Transcripts must reflect a minimum GPA of 3.0 for all prerequisite courses with no grade lower than a C," and applicants may have "no more than 4 prerequisite courses outstanding at the time of application." A bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution must be completed or on track to complete before the class begins. Testing: "Completion of Graduate Record Exam (GRE Code 7341)" and "Completion of the Altus Suite/ CASPer assessment" are both required for interview consideration; no minimum score is published; the PA-CAT is not mentioned. Patient care: "There is no requirement for minimum number of patient care experience hours, however it is highly recommended that applicants complete at least 250 hours," with 250 to 1,000 hours recommended and applicants rated on both type and number of hours. Three letters of recommendation, writers not specified. Interview preference goes to students taking at least 12 semester credit hours at Kettering College, honorably discharged veterans, and Seventh-day Adventist students. No advanced placement is awarded. Recent cohorts of 60 averaged an undergraduate GPA of 3.65 to 3.78 and a science prerequisite GPA of 3.60 to 3.72. CASPA applications "must be officially submitted to CASPA no later than October 1 of the year prior to matriculation."

Check your transcript against this list

Cyclios keeps this list beside your coursework and tells you what Kettering College still needs from you.

See it for PA school