PA · Cincinnati, Ohio · private
Mount St. Joseph University Physician Assistant Program prerequisites
What Mount St. Joseph asks for in the 2026-27 cycle, as read from the school's own admissions page. 12 lines differ from the standard PA school set, marked below.
Coursework
- Biology with labrequiredextra here
lab
"General Biology (one year) +." Two semesters with lab; credits not stated. C- minimum, within 10 years of matriculation.
- General chemistry with labrequired
2 semesters · 8 credits · lab
"General Chemistry (one year) +." Two semesters with lab; credits not stated. C- minimum, ten-year window.
- Organic chemistry with labrequiredextra here
lab
"Organic Chemistry +." Lab indicated; number of semesters and credits not stated. Required alongside biochemistry. C- minimum, ten-year window.
- Biochemistryrequired
1 semester · 3 credits
"Biochemistry," no lab indicated. Required in addition to organic chemistry. Credits not stated.
- English or writing-intensivenot required here
Not on MSJ's prerequisite list.
- Statisticsrequired
1 semester · 3 credits
"Statistics." Credits not stated. C- minimum, ten-year window.
- Psychologyrequired
1 semester · 3 credits
Developmental psychology specifically, not introductory. Per the FAQ, an upper-level abnormal psychology course cannot substitute, but a CLEP test can (50 of 90 questions to pass).
- Anatomy and physiologyrequired
2 semesters · 8 credits · lab
"Anatomy and Physiology (one year) +." Two semesters with lab; credits not stated. The one prerequisite with a tighter window: "must be completed within 5 years of matriculation." C- minimum.
- Microbiologyrequireddiffers
1 semester · 4 credits
Most PA programmes ask for 1 semester · 4 credits · lab.
"Microbiology" is listed without the plus sign that marks a required lab. Credits not stated. C- minimum, ten-year window.
- Medical terminologynot required here
FAQ: "No, medical terminology is included in the program curriculum."
Experience hours
- Patient care experiencerecommendeddiffers
500+ hours
Most PA programmes ask for 500+ hours and list it as required.
No minimum: "The program does not require any hours related to direct-patient-care experience however, the program gives preference to applicants who exceed 200 hours of direct-patient-care experience." The program's definition: "paid/unpaid experiences that involve direct interaction with patients for every shift worked," such as medical assistant, PCA, home health aide, STNA, patient transporter, EMT, paramedic, athletic trainer, therapist, nurse. Scribe, pharm tech, lab assistant, research assistant and COVID contact tracer do not count as direct patient care.
- Healthcare experiencerequireddiffers
500+ hours
Most PA programmes ask for 500+ hours and list it as recommended.
"A minimum of 500 hours of Health-Related Experience," using CASPA's definition: paid or unpaid work in a health-related field including "filling prescriptions, performing clerical work, delivering patient food, cleaning patients and/or their rooms, administering food or medication, taking vitals," scribing, CNA and medical assistant work. Direct patient care hours count toward this total; virtual shadowing does not. Hours may still be in progress at submission with a plan to finish by September 1.
- PA shadowingrequireddiffers
40+ hours
Most PA programmes ask for 20+ hours and list it as recommended.
"Minimum of 40 hours shadowing a certified physician assistant in a clinical setting. Virtual shadowing hours do not count towards this requirement or health-related experience." Verified on the program's In-Person Shadowing Verification Form; preference for over 40 hours from multiple settings.
- Non-clinical volunteeringrecommendedextra here
No published minimum
A stated preference, not a requirement: "Over 20 non-healthcare volunteer or community enrichment experience hours within 5 years of matriculation," using the CASPA definition such as Habitat for Humanity, tutoring, or a fundraiser walk.
Letters
- Science faculty letternot required here
A professor is one of several suggested writers for the two unrestricted letters, not a requirement.
- PA letterrequireddiffers
1 letter
Most PA programmes publish no minimum and list it as recommended.
"Three letters of Recommendation. One letter must be from a certified physician assistant." No family members or friends.
- Supervisor letternot required here
Only the PA letter is required; "Other suggestions include previous supervisor, professor, professional or social colleague."
Also on the school’s page
MSJ lists prerequisites without credit counts, marking labs with a plus sign: "General Chemistry (one year) +, Organic Chemistry +, Biochemistry, General Biology (one year) +, Microbiology, Anatomy and Physiology (one year) +, Developmental Psychology, Statistics." "Each course must have a final grade of a C minus or higher." Recency: "Each prerequisite course must have been completed within 10 years of matriculation into the program (January of the year you start), except for Anatomy and Physiology I & II with lab, which must be completed within 5 years of matriculation." AP and CLEP credit are accepted for prerequisites but do not count in the GPA; online and hybrid courses may be accepted after syllabus review; retakes replace the prior grade. Applicants with expired prerequisites who have worked continually as a certified or licensed provider may request a waiver. Degree: "Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution with a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 and science GPA of 3.0," confirmed by transcript before the January start. Testing, from the program's Admission FAQ: "As of 2/1/2024 the program no longer requires the GRE for program application. The program also does not require other standardized tests, such as CASPER or PA-CAT at this time." The FAQ also states medical terminology is not required and that an upper-level abnormal psychology course cannot substitute for developmental psychology, though a CLEP test can. Experience: "A minimum of 500 hours of Health-Related Experience" using the CASPA definition, while "The program does not require any hours related to direct-patient-care experience however, the program gives preference to applicants who exceed 200 hours of direct-patient-care experience." "Minimum of 40 hours shadowing a certified physician assistant in a clinical setting," in person only. Three letters, one from a certified PA. Preferences that are "NOT considered program requirements" include MSJ graduates, veterans, residents of Greater Cincinnati, over 200 direct patient care hours, over 20 non-healthcare volunteer hours within 5 years, over 40 PA shadowing hours from multiple settings, and a GPA above 3.0. Rolling admissions with seat offers from July to December; "All applications must be verified through CASPA by September 1st." TOEFL iBT 104 with 26 in each section for applicants who did not attend an English-language high school.
Check your transcript against this list
Cyclios keeps this list beside your coursework and tells you what Mount St. Joseph still needs from you.
See it for PA schoolAlso in Ohio
- Ashland University Physician Assistant ProgramAshland
- Baldwin Wallace University Physician Assistant ProgramBerea
- Case Western Reserve University Physician Assistant ProgramCleveland
- Cedarville University Physician Assistant ProgramCedarville
- Kettering College Physician Assistant ProgramKettering
- Lake Erie College Physician Assistant ProgramPainesville
- Marietta College Physician Assistant ProgramMarietta
- Mercy College of Ohio Physician Assistant ProgramToledo
- Miami University Physician Associate ProgramOxford
- Ohio Dominican University Physician Assistant ProgramColumbus
- Ohio University Physician Assistant ProgramDublin
- University of Dayton Physician Assistant ProgramDayton