PA · Pepper Pike, Ohio · private
Ursuline College Physician Assistant Program prerequisites
What Ursuline College asks for in the 2026-27 cycle, as read from the school's own admissions page. 13 lines differ from the standard PA school set, marked below.
Coursework
- Biology with labrequiredextra here
No published minimum
"Biology I & II." Two semesters; the page does not state that a laboratory is required and gives no credit hours. Ten-year recency window.
- General chemistry with labrequireddiffers
2 semesters · 8 credits
Most PA programmes ask for 2 semesters · 8 credits · lab.
"General Chemistry I & II." Two semesters; the page does not state that a laboratory is required and gives no credit hours.
- Organic chemistry with labrequiredextra here
No published minimum
"Organic Chemistry," one course. The page does not state that a laboratory is required and gives no credit hours.
- Biochemistrynot required here
Not on Ursuline's prerequisite list; the chemistry ask is General Chemistry I & II plus Organic Chemistry.
- English or writing-intensiverequireddiffers
2 semesters · 6 credits
Most PA programmes ask for 2 semesters · 6 credits and list it as recommended.
"English" is on the required course list; the kind of English course and credit hours are not stated.
- Statisticsrequired
1 semester · 3 credits
"Statistics," one course; credit hours are not stated.
- Psychologyrequired
1 semester · 3 credits
"Psychology," one course; credit hours are not stated.
- Geneticsrequiredextra here
No published minimum
"Genetics," one course; credit hours are not stated.
- Anatomy and physiologyrequired
2 semesters · 8 credits · lab
"Human Anatomy and Physiology I & II with labs." "One semester of Human Anatomy with lab PLUS one semester of Human Physiology with lab can substitute for Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs." Credit hours are not stated. Ten-year recency window.
- Microbiologyrequireddiffers
1 semester · 4 credits
Most PA programmes ask for 1 semester · 4 credits · lab.
"Microbiology," one course. The page does not state that a laboratory is required and gives no credit hours.
- Medical terminologyrequireddiffers
1 credits
Most PA programmes ask for 1 credits and list it as recommended.
"Medical terminology" is on the required course list; credit hours are not stated, and pass/fail grading does not satisfy it.
Experience hours
- Patient care experiencerecommendeddiffers
500+ hours
Most PA programmes ask for 500+ hours and list it as required.
No minimum: "No direct patient-care hours or shadowing hours to be admitted. While not required, candidates should still include any patient-care related experience (paid or volunteer) in their CASPA applications."
- Healthcare experiencerecommended
500+ hours
Not required and no number published; any patient-care related experience should still be listed in CASPA.
- PA shadowingrecommended
20+ hours
No minimum: the program requires no "shadowing hours to be admitted."
Letters
- Science faculty letternot required here
The faculty option is any professor who taught the candidate, and it can be replaced by a second clinician letter; no science faculty letter is asked for.
- Faculty letter (any discipline)recommendedextra here
1 letter
The second letter category: "A college or university professor where the candidate has been a student in one or more of the classes taught by the faculty member OR an additional person holding the PA-C, MD or DO designation." A second clinician letter can take its place, so it is not strictly required.
- PA letterrequireddiffers
1 letter
Most PA programmes publish no minimum and list it as recommended.
First letter category: "A person holding the PA-C, MD or DO designation and who also holds a current license to practice under that designation." A licensed physician's letter satisfies this line equally.
- Supervisor letternot required here
Not required. The third letter is "A reference of your choice of someone who has knowledge of your work ethic, academic record, volunteer work or other activities."
Also on the school’s page
Ursuline lists prerequisite courses by name without credit hours: General Chemistry I & II, Organic Chemistry, Biology I & II, Human Anatomy and Physiology I & II with labs, Genetics, Microbiology, Medical terminology, Psychology, Statistics and English. Only the anatomy and physiology line names a laboratory. Each needs "a grade of C or better in each course (no grade of 'C-' or lower will be accepted)." Recency: "All prerequisite courses must have been completed within 10 years of the application deadline." "Pass/Fail classes will not fulfill prerequisite requirements; a letter and numerical grade must be submitted." AP credits can fulfill prerequisites. In-progress courses are listed in CASPA and reviewed; prerequisites "must be successfully completed before students matriculate." GPA: "Minimum cumulative GPA and science GPA must be at least 3.0," with exceptions possible but not guaranteed for compelling graduate coursework. "A baccalaureate degree must be conferred prior to beginning the program." Testing: "No standardized test is required (GRE, MCAT, PA-CAT or CASPer)." Experience: "No direct patient-care hours or shadowing hours to be admitted. While not required, candidates should still include any patient-care related experience (paid or volunteer) in their CASPA applications." Letters: three recommendations through CASPA, one from each category: a licensed PA-C, MD or DO; a college or university professor who taught the candidate or an additional PA-C, MD or DO; and a reference of the candidate's choice. An interview is required, and not every applicant meeting the minimums is invited. Admissions window runs from when CASPA opens in April until September 1; only CASPA-verified complete applications received by September 1 are considered. Candidates with an unexpunged criminal record are not eligible for enrollment.
Check your transcript against this list
Cyclios keeps this list beside your coursework and tells you what Ursuline College still needs from you.
See it for PA schoolAlso in Ohio
- Ashland University Physician Assistant ProgramAshland
- Baldwin Wallace University Physician Assistant ProgramBerea
- Case Western Reserve University Physician Assistant ProgramCleveland
- Cedarville University Physician Assistant ProgramCedarville
- Kettering College Physician Assistant ProgramKettering
- Lake Erie College Physician Assistant ProgramPainesville
- Marietta College Physician Assistant ProgramMarietta
- Mercy College of Ohio Physician Assistant ProgramToledo
- Miami University Physician Associate ProgramOxford
- Mount St. Joseph University Physician Assistant ProgramCincinnati
- Ohio Dominican University Physician Assistant ProgramColumbus
- Ohio University Physician Assistant ProgramDublin